Skip to main content

Literary Readings and Contests

NC State Literary Readings Spring 2024

Carter Sickels and LaTanya McQueen (Fiction)

Thursday, February 15, 7:30 PM Caldwell Hall Lounge, Caldwell Hall (map)

Carter Sickels is the author of the novel The Prettiest Star, winner of the Ohioana Book Award in Fiction, the 2021 Southern Book Prize, and the Weatherford Award, and selected as a Kirkus Best Book of 2020 and a Best LGBT Book by O Magazine. His debut novel The Evening Hour (Bloomsbury, 2012) was adapted into a feature film that premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in 2020. His writing has appeared in publications including The Kenyon Review, The Atlantic, Oxford AmericanPoets & WritersBuzzFeed, and Guernica. Carter is the recipient of the  Lambda Literary Emerging Writer Award, and has received fellowships from the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, the Sewanee Writers’ Conference, MacDowell, and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. Carter is an assistant professor of creative writing at North Carolina State University.

LaTanya McQueen is the recipient of grants from the National Endowment of the Arts (2022 Fellowship in Prose) and the Elizabeth George Foundation. She is the author of two books—the essay collection And It Begins Like This (Black Lawrence Press, 2017) and the novel When the Reckoning Comes (Harper Perennial, 2021).

JENNY OFFILL (Fiction) presented in collaboration with NC State’s Office of University Interdisciplinary Programs and NC State University Libraries
Thursday, March 28, 7:30 PM D.H. Hill Jr. Library Auditorium

Jenny Offill is the author of the novels Last Things (a New York Times Notable Book of the Year and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times First Fiction Award), Dept. of Speculation, which was shortlisted for the Folio Prize, the Pen-Faulkner Award, and the International Dublin Literary Award and Weather, a New York Times Bestseller. She lives in upstate New York and teaches at Syracuse University and in the low-residency program at Queens University.

Please register for this event using the EventBrite website

Melissa Crowe (Poetry) and Dorianne Laux Poetry Prize Award

Thursday, April 11, 7:30 PM Caldwell Hall Lounge, Caldwell Hall (map)

Melissa Crowe is the author of Dear Terror, Dear Splendor (University of Wisconsin Press, 2019) and Lo (University of Iowa Press, 2023), winner of the Iowa Poetry Prize. Her work has appeared recently or is forthcoming in 32 Poems, Gulf Coast, New England Review, and Poetry Northwest, and she was the recipient of the 2021 Robert H. Winner Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America. She coordinates the MFA program at UNCW, where she teaches poetry and publishing. 

MFA Graduate Reading 

Tuesday, April 16, 7:30 PM Caldwell Hall Lounge, Caldwell Hall (map)