Advising

Once admitted to the Department of English, students are assigned an advisor based on their chosen concentration. Your assigned advisor can be found in the MyPack portal, at the top left side of your degree audit. Your advisor is here to help you with your academic progress. 

Prof. Bob Bateman 
bateman@ncsu.edu
919-513-7747
Dr. Gene Melton 
hgmelton@ncsu.edu
919-515-3303
Prof. Etta Barksdale 
etta_barksdale@ncsu.edu

Prof. Roy Stamper
roy_stamper@ncsu.edu
919-513-1807
Dr. Gene Melton 
hgmelton@ncsu.edu
919-515-3303
Dr. Jeffrey Reaser 
jlreaser@ncsu.edu
919-515-4176
Dr. Jason Swarts 
Associate Department Head
Director, Undergraduate Studies
Coordinator of Advising
jswarts@ncsu.edu
919-515-4112
Students have responsibilities as well:
  • You are responsible for making an appointment each semester during the advising period (the week after the course schedule is published on the academic calendar). You cannot register for classes until your advisor releases the advising hold on your account. 
  • You are responsible for filling out your planner in MyPack so that your advisor can approve it. 
  • You are responsible for completing graduation paperwork in the first week of the semester in which you plan to graduate. 
Arrange to meet with your advisor at least once per semester. Your advisor can also… 
… answer questions about career options.
… provide guidance on your concentration and courses.
… review your progress towards degree.
… be a resource when you’re experiencing academic difficulties. 

For situations or problems that your advisor cannot handle, please contact Dr. Jason Swarts, the Advising Coordinator. He can provide assistance with moving courses on your degree audit, transfer credits, questions about study abroad, summer advising, and for immediate help if your advisor is not available.  


Complete degree requirements for your concentration can be found on the Department of Registration and Records’ Degree Requirements website. 

Semester-by-Semester plans can be found on the Academic and Student Affairs’ Courses, Curricula and Academic Standards website.