Advising

Welcome! The Advising page will help acquaint you with the advising process. Students can find contact information, helpful links, and instructions to facilitate advising appointments. For students new to the department, these pages can help you plan your first semester at NC State. 


Once admitted to the Department of English, students are assigned an advisor based on their chosen concentration. Your assigned advisor can be found in the MyPack portal, at the top left side of your degree audit. Your advisor is here to help you with your academic progress.

Click on your concentration below to see contact information for your advisor. Once you are enrolled as an NC State student, you can schedule an appointment with your advisor anytime by utilizing the Student Success GPS platform

Chelsea Krieg
cekrieg@ncsu.edu

Elizabeth Wagner 
eawagne2@ncsu.edu
Dr. Gene Melton 
hgmelton@ncsu.edu
919-515-3303

Etta Barksdale 
etta_barksdale@ncsu.edu

Roy Stamper
roy_stamper@ncsu.edu
919-513-1807
Dr. Jeffrey Reaser 
jlreaser@ncsu.edu
919-515-4176
Dr. Gene Melton 
hgmelton@ncsu.edu
919-515-3303
Dr. Jeffrey Reaser 
jlreaser@ncsu.edu
919-515-4176
Dr. Jason Swarts 
Associate Department Head
Director, Undergraduate Studies
Coordinator of Advising
jswarts@ncsu.edu
919-515-4112


Click on the Freshmen tab in the left-hand menu for help getting oriented to the English Department, including links to Student Services, suggestions for first-semester courses, and departmental expectations. 

The Transfers tab to the left includes information about checking your transfer credits, using MyPack, and details about the Comprehensive Articulation Agreement.  

View the Enrollment Timeline for incoming Fall 2019 students. 

High-Impact Practices

Ask your Advisor how you can take advantage of these opportunities:

Study Abroad, Internships, Inter-departmental Collaborations‌‌‌‌‌